01: The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage (The Find-Outers)

01: The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage (The Find-Outers)

Language: English

Pages: 0

ISBN: B01E4B6Z72

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven.

Someone has set fire to Mr Hick's cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it's not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to "clear orf". The Find-Outers are determined - they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does!

First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Smellie. It was no good deciding about Peeks until they had also seen Smellie! They mounted their bicycles again and set off. They free-wheeled down a hill and round a corner. Larry went into some one with a crash! He fell off and so did the other person! Larry sat up and stared apologetically at the man in the road. To His horror it was old Clear-Orf! “What! You again!” yelled Mr. Goon, in a most threatening voice. Larry hurriedly got up. The other two were farther down the road, laughing.

to do that. With a sudden quick twist he was out of Clear-Orf s grasp and tearing up the lane as fast as he could go. He went right to the top, and then round and into the lane in which Larry’s house stood. He slipped into Larry’s drive when he came to it and made his way to the bottom of the garden, his heart beating loudly. He shinned up to the top of the wall and dropped down. He made his way cautiously to the back the house. Then he hooted like an owl. “Oooo-oo! Oooo-ooo-ooo-OOOOO!” A

you?” he said. “Larry for Laurence, Pip for Philip, Daisy for Margaret and Bets for Elizabeth. I’m always called Frederick.” For some reason this seemed funny to the others. The boy spoke in a drawling, affected kind of voice, and somehow the name of Frederick Algernon Trotteville just seemed to suit him. “F for Frederick, A for Algernon, T for Trotteville,” said Pip suddenly, with a grin. “F-A-T; it describes you rather well!” Frederick Algernon Trotteville looked rather cross at first, then

and Daisy and I will come a bit later.” Larry and Fatty went off. They walked down the lane and came to Mr. Hick’s house, which stood a good way back in its own drive. The garage was at the side of the house. A loud whistling came from that direction., and the sound of water. “He’s washing the car,” said Larry, in a low voice. “Come on. We’ll pretend we want to see someone who doesn’t live here, and then ask if he’d like us to help him.” The boys went down the drive together. They soon came in

“I am not a child,” said the boy indignantly. “Can’t you see I’m helping?” “You clear orf!” said Mr. Goon. A dog suddenly appeared and barked round the policeman’s ankles in a most annoying way. Mr, Goon was angry. He kicked out at the dog. “This your dog?” he called to the boy. “Call him orf!” The boy took no notice but went to get another pail of water. The dog had a wonderful time round Mr. Goon’s trousered ankles. “Clear orf!” said the policeman, kicking out again. Larry and the others

Download sample

Download